Since January 2021, via our client satisfaction questionnaire, we have asked every new client that has approached us for financial advice, and existing clients at their review: Based on your experience, how likely is it that you would recommend Optimum to family and friends, if they needed to see a financial adviser? – Since then, 123 clients have kindly taken the time to reply, and we are proud to say that of those, 117 have answered ‘without hesitation’ and the other 6 have answered ‘probably’. The testimonials below are additional ‘own words’ comments that some of our clients have also left. 20th September 2021

Tosh is excellent, he always responds comprehensively and timeously to any queries I may have.

Gavin Dean - 18 Sep 2021

I fully trust John with my money. He is very friendly and not at all pushy. He understands our goals and advises accordingly. I know I have to pay for Optimum’s services but I feel that it is money well spent. They do all the hard work and I just watch it grow (hopefully!) on my App.

Julie S - 07 Sep 2021

Just a very short note to acknowledge your letter of 12th August and to say how pleased we were with the result of the investment management on our behalf. It was far better than we anticipated. Fingers crossed that things continue in the same way!

Wil & Jane Hammond - 01 Sep 2021

Rick Patmore has been dealing with our finances for many years. Always a pleasure to see him.

Lynne Mason - 30 Aug 2021

I have always found the experience very good and felt extremely happy with the help I have been given when I did not understand everything. Gary has always been easy to work with and I think he has always given sound advice. I wish him well for the future.

Sheila Milham - 27 Aug 2021

As we now no longer live in Colchester and due to the current situation due to Covid all our contact is now over the phone or email. Always prompt in dealing with our questions, polite and knowledgeable. John is always clear and honest with what he suggests we do with our money. Pleased with our returns.

Chris Tyler - 22 Aug 2021

Perhaps some cake as well as coffee at the next review meeting. Otherwise the arrangements were flawless and the banter superlative!

Peter D - 07 Aug 2021

Difficult to talk in the detail we have become used to over the years during much briefer telephone appointments. This is the fault of the pandemic not Optimum.

Clare D - 31 Jul 2021

I am able to talk frankly with my advisors to determine what’s best for me, however the final decision is always mine.

James C - 28 Jul 2021

A very good company to deal with and feel quite safe in their hands.

Will Hopkins - 22 Jul 2021

We have great confidence in our dealings with Optimum, we appreciate the patience with which we are dealt and the support we are given to make decisions. Our attitude to risk taking has been strengthened. We have already recommended Optimum to others!

Alan & Jill James - 10 Jul 2021

The meeting went smoothly and in a friendly way.

Anthony De Fraine - 10 Jul 2021

Feel very reassured that we have our money in a safe portfolio with Optimum. Always there when needed. Can’t recommend highly enough.

Pauline Scott - 07 Jul 2021

Excellent professionalism all round – especially no-nonsense valuable tailored and open advice without trying to continually push/sell other services. Staff and communications always clear and professional.

Guy Peyton - 07 Jul 2021

Rick is extremely knowledgeable, kind and patient and never makes me feel silly if I don’t understand something.

Tracy Stonley - 03 Jul 2021

As an ex financial adviser I am completely satisfied with the service and sound advice that Rick Patmore always gives to my wife and myself. Nothing is ever too much trouble and the office team are always on the ball. Thank you.

Martin Stonley - 02 Jul 2021

Cannot fault the service and advice from Rick Patmore.

T W - 28 Jun 2021

John has been very thorough in reviewing my financial circumstances and offering advice in so many areas including aspects that I had not even considered. Overall I have been very happy with the service provided and am continually finding more areas in which you are able to support me in making the best financial decisions. I am also impressed by the ongoing professionalism and friendliness of everyone within the Optimum team.

A B - 25 Jun 2021

Optimum’s staff have always been polite, helpful, professional and cheerful. Nothing ever seems to be too much trouble for them, their customer service focus is excellent. We have always been provided with excellent advice and service and trust them to continue doing so into the future.

David Griffiths - 25 Jun 2021

We have recommended Optimum to several friends and they like us have been more than satisfied with the service and professionalism that we have received. We feel very confident and happy with how our money is managed.

Patricia Windsor - 25 Jun 2021

All staff have always been helpful and efficient.

Derek Lynch - 24 Jun 2021

Optimum continues to give a first class service. Over time we have recommended Optimum to several friends who also have rated the company as first class.

Colin Windsor - 21 Jun 2021

Everyone with whom I have had contact at Optimum has been very friendly and approachable, as well as being extremely knowledgeable and helpful. I feel that my best interests are at the forefront of all the advice I have received. I have been advised regarding certain financial issues that I never realised I had, which has given me the opportunity to address them myself, where possible. I am more than satisfied with the service I have received.

Kathryn Thompson - 21 Jun 2021

Excellent can’t fault this company, have already recommended family and friends and would continue to do so.

Alexandra Leach - 21 Jun 2021

As per usual Optimum have been extremely professional and understood about all the dealings with my yearly review. We are very happy with the information we have received from you and look forward to our continued partnership. Thank you once again.

Malcolm Ord - 18 Jun 2021

Whoever I speak to at Optimum has always been helpful, friendly, efficient and a pleasure to be in touch with. That is why I recommend them to family and friends.

Maria England - 16 Jun 2021

Always helpful and knowledgeable about the financial markets and able to relate that to my own financial circumstances. Excellent!

Nick Vosper - 10 Jun 2021

I have always received friendly, immediate, and sound advice with extremely efficient administrative follow up from all relevant members of Optimum’s team and have recommended Optimum’s services to all my friends.

Stephen Lansley - 6 Jun 2021

Although my interaction has often been once or twice a year it is always a pleasure speaking to Tosh. He’s able to ask the right questions and I’ve developed a good understanding and confidence with my investments as well as managing my money outside them. I know that when I need more detailed advice and planning as life gets more interesting, Tosh (and Optimum) will be there to help.

Thomas Martlew - 28 May 2021

Always a great experience to communicate with all the staff.

Machel Norman - 26 May 2021

Brilliant service all round. Excellent advice.

Michael Rowe - 21 May 2021

I have total confidence in every way Optimum manages every aspect of my financial affairs and the advice given.

David King - 18 May 2021

Thoroughly professional and objective, but relaxed friendly and informative.

W M - 17 May 2021

Optimum continues to be Very Good, and I personally regard John Arrowsmith as a friend, not just a Financial Advisor.

R B - 17 May 2021

Optimum does what it says on the tin. Excellent advice always given.

Richard Wheatland - 6 May 2021

I am extremely happy with Optimum and would recommend them to anyone. Stephen and Gary are always very quick to answer my questions no matter how large and I value their advice! Sophie is also extremely helpful throughout the process!

Sam Egerton - 21 Apr 2021

As someone with no great financial experience, your advice was easy for me to understand and allowed me to consider how best to manage mum’s financial affairs. I would like to thank you for getting back to me so quickly after my initial enquiry, and for explaining the considerations so well. It really has helped enormously and I would have no hesitation in recommending your services.

M R - 14 Apr 2021

Really pleased with whole service and thanks for all your advice and support.

Sue Daniels - 13 Apr 2021

Stephen, annual review report is brilliantly detailed and really interesting. Thanks so much for your continued diligent support, I never really noticed how carefully the funds and the pension are managed as you go along.

I’m sure there’s other clever things you’re doing, thanks again for your continued careful management of my/our finances.

Anthony Roberts - 08 Apr 2021

Always given sound advice, in language that is understood.

Steve Daniels - 02 Apr 2021

Simply fantastic.

Stuart Phillips - 29 Mar 2021

Have always found the service and advice given by Optimum to be excellent and this year was no different other than the fact that it had to be dealt with remotely due to pandemic. Look forward to continuing my dealings with Optimum in the future.

John Townley - 28 Mar 2021

Very supportive to myself and husband during which is a difficult personal time.

Linda McClure - 27 Mar 2021

Helpful, supportive and professional as ever.

James McClure - 27 Mar 2021

As a new client I have experienced an excellent introduction to the world of financial investment in the stock market. The whole approach from Optimum has been transparent, honest , friendly and responsive. I am grateful for this introduction and look forward to many years of sound and supportive financial advice.

Peter Stern - 20 Mar 2021

We were very pleased to have Rick involved once again. We feel he knows our needs and attitudes pretty well and has helped us make a good transition from long term to retirement financial planning. His skills have maximised our savings and the professional efficiency and approachability of the firm gives us confidence that we are in safe hands.

Judith Hall - 18 Mar 2021

Very pleased with the service and like the approach which provides me with a greater understanding and more confidence. very pleased to have made the move to Optimum.

Lesley Bojko - 17 Mar 2021

All elements of the investments are carefully explained and any questions answered in a considerate manner.

David Bojko - 17 Mar 2021

I am very appreciative of the continued and on-going personal service which i have always received, this gives me confidence and peace of mind concerning my finances. Thank you all so much.

Philip Need - 17 Mar 2021

Am not terribly au fair with stocks snd shares but if I have any queries or need help? This is always immediately available.

Renée Coyne - 15 Mar 2021

Always very professional and staff a pleasure to talk to.

Colin Webb - 8 Mar 2021

Always helpful and understanding.

Patrick Sparkes - 1 Mar 2021

Excellent, personal service and advice, as usual.

Jonathan Wignall - 25 Feb 2021

Thorough and friendly.

Rosemary & Jim Green - 23 Feb 2021

Responsive, understanding and professional.

William Enright - 23 Feb 2021

Very satisfied with the service received from all members of staff.

Robert Townsend - 18 Feb 2021

Optimum have consistently provided excellent service. John has really taken the time to talk through and understand our attitude to investment and has provided gentle but very reasonable ‘challenge’ to some of our less defensible leanings. He has steered us to a mix of investments that gives us what we need – and has managed to keep us comfortable with the process. All the other members of the Optimum team with whom we have had dealings have always been really friendly, helpful and professional. This massively helps to make our dealings with Optimum much more efficient and a lot less stressful. Thanks all!

Stephen Buttery - 9 Feb 2021

Thank you John I very much appreciate your measured and trustworthy advice as always.

Jennie Boyden - 6 Feb 2021

Nice to deal with established business contacts and a team behind them.

David Boyden - 5 Feb 2021

First class, knowledgeable, professional and friendly service. Excellence in every department!

David & Anne Barbour - 20 Jan 2021

I think your service is very good and helpful.

Alva Attwood - 19 Jan 2021

Optimum gave me and my wife peace-of-mind in all matters.

Len Attwood - 19 Jan 2021

I was originally introduced to Optimum by my accountants and immediately trusted John when he told me I didn’t need his services! I recommended Optimum to my parents in law who immediately started to use them for IHT planning and my wife and I started to use Optimum when we retired. We have recommended them to other members of our family and would not hesitate to recommend Optimum to anyone who needs financial advice of any sort. Very friendly and always helpful.

Alan Walmsley - 14 Jan 2021